T-Mobile and Verizon are two wireless carriers whose stores appear in net lease listings, and the comparison turns on a question the brand does not answer: which entity signed the lease. Verizon Communications Inc. is rated BBB+/Baa1 (S&P / Moody’s) in our ratings database, which classifies it as investment grade. For T-Mobile US, Inc., our ratings database holds an S&P rating of BBB+ and a Fitch rating of BBB+, with no verified Moody’s rating. In the listings we track, T-Mobile asks a live median cap rate of 7.25%, versus 6.39% for Verizon.
This comparison applies the framework from our investment grade guide: credit first, then lease structure, then the real estate. The ratings describe the parent company, and the lease tells you who owes the rent.
T-Mobile vs Verizon: Head-to-Head Comparison
| Metric | T-Mobile | Verizon |
|---|---|---|
| Parent Company | T-Mobile US, Inc. (TMUS) | Verizon Communications Inc. (VZ) |
| S&P Rating | BBB+ | BBB+ |
| Moody’s Rating | no verified rating | Baa1 |
| Fitch Rating | BBB+ | A- |
| Investment Grade? | Yes: based on the S&P and Fitch ratings on file; the threshold is BBB-/Baa3 | Yes: the threshold is BBB-/Baa3 |
| Revenue | US$88.3 billion total revenues (2025, Form 10-K) | $138.2 billion total operating revenues (2025, Form 10-K) |
| How service is sold | T-Mobile and Metro by T-Mobile stores, dealers and national retailers; store count not disclosed in the Form 10-K | Company-operated stores, plus agents and national retailers at retail locations; store count not reported in the Form 10-K |
| Median asking cap rate (live) | 7.25% (9 listings with a cap rate in our data) | 6.39% (25 listings with a cap rate in our data) |
| Most recent listing observed (live) | October 16, 2026 | October 16, 2026 |
| Median asking price (live) | $1.28M | $2.02M |
| Lease Obligor | Property-specific: T-Mobile US, Inc., a subsidiary, a former Sprint entity or a dealer; confirm the tenant and any guarantor in the lease | Property-specific: a Verizon operating entity or an authorized retailer; confirm the tenant and any guarantor in the lease |
Ratings per our tenant ratings database. T-Mobile: Ratings checked October 8, 2026. Verizon: Ratings checked September 27, 2026. Revenue and sales-channel descriptions are from the companies’ Form 10-K filings as labeled. Median asking cap rates, cap rate counts, prices and last-observed dates are live values from the active listings InvestmentGrade.com tracks; a few cap rates are calculated from a listing’s stated price and income rather than stated in the listing. Asking cap rates are not closing cap rates.
Credit: Parent Ratings and What They Cover
Verizon Communications Inc. reported total operating revenues of $138.2 billion for 2025 and about 147 million wireless retail connections on its network at December 31, 2025 (Form 10-K). Its ratings in our database are BBB+/Baa1 (S&P / Moody’s) and A- from Fitch. The full profile is on the Verizon credit rating and cap rate page.
T-Mobile US, Inc. reported total revenues of US$88.3 billion for 2025, and its 2025 Form 10-K describes it as the second-largest provider of wireless communications services in the U.S. by total postpaid and prepaid customers. Our database holds an S&P rating of BBB+ and a Fitch rating of BBB+ for T-Mobile US, Inc., and no verified Moody’s rating. Details are on the T-Mobile credit rating and cap rate page, and both carriers can be benchmarked in our credit tenant ratings database.
The Lease Question: Carrier, Former Sprint Entity or Retailer
For both carriers, the parent rating applies to a store lease only where the carrier or a rated carrier entity is the tenant or guarantor. An authorized retailer, which on this page means an independent company that sells a carrier’s service and may run a carrier-branded store, can sign its own lease. That lease carries the retailer’s credit, not the carrier’s, unless a carrier entity guarantees it.
T-Mobile adds one more layer. It completed its merger with Sprint on April 1, 2020, after which Sprint and its subsidiaries became wholly owned subsidiaries of T-Mobile, and in August 2020 it unified Sprint’s retail operations under the T-Mobile brand (2020 Form 10-K). The Form 10-K filings for 2020 and 2021 describe merger restructuring costs that include contract termination costs associated with the rationalization of retail stores. For a former Sprint location, confirm which entity is the tenant, whether T-Mobile US, Inc. guarantees the lease, the remaining term, any early termination rights and how the store fits the nearby T-Mobile network.
Smaller retail spaces can suit a range of users, but re-leasing depends on the local market. Check the remaining term, renewal options and rent schedule, and for shopping center locations, co-tenancy and go-dark provisions. Verizon’s Form 10-K describes its direct channel, including company-operated stores, as a core component of its distribution strategy alongside digital channels and agents.
Cap Rates: Live Medians for Telecom Peers
Live asking cap rates for T-Mobile, Verizon and comparable tenants:
| Tenant | S&P / Moody’s | Median asking cap rate | Middle half of listings | Listings | Median vs. 10-year Treasury |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sherwin-Williams | BBB / Baa2 | 6.00% | 5.66% to 6.14% | 34 | +76 bps |
| Verizon | BBB+ / Baa1 | 6.39% | 6.00% to 7.50% | 25 | +115 bps |
| Best Buy | BBB+ / A3 | 6.58% | 6.10% to 7.31% | 6 | +134 bps |
| AT&T | n/a / n/a | 7.00% | 6.43% to 7.16% | 11 | +176 bps |
| T-Mobile | BBB+ / n/a | 7.25% | 6.50% to 7.75% | 9 | +201 bps |
Active listings InvestmentGrade.com tracks with an asking cap rate (stated in the listing, or computed from its stated income and price when no rate is stated), listings last observed October 19, 2026. Asking cap rates are not closed-sale cap rates. The middle half is the range from the 25th to the 75th percentile of listings. The 10-year Treasury yield is 5.24% as of October 1, 2026 (FRED series DGS10). Ratings are the agency ratings in our ratings database for the entity shown, which may be a parent company; the rating type (for example issuer, senior unsecured debt, long-term debt or revenue bond ratings) varies by company and is shown on each tenant page. A rating applies to a lease only if the rated entity signs or guarantees it, so confirm the tenant and any guarantor in the lease. n/a means no verified rating is on file.
Across the active listings we track, T-Mobile asks a live median cap rate of 7.25%, while Verizon asks 6.39%. The difference between the two medians may reflect the mix of carrier and authorized retailer leases, remaining terms and locations in each set of listings; the data do not isolate any one cause. Each median rests on the listing count shown in the table above, so treat them as a snapshot of what sellers are asking rather than what buyers pay.
The Bond-to-NNN Pivot
Income buyers can compare a store against a bond benchmark. A corporate bond index for the matching rating category is one such benchmark, but it is a category measure rather than a quote on a T-Mobile or Verizon bond. The cap rate table above shows each tenant’s median asking cap rate against the 10-year Treasury yield, and current index yields by rating category are on our corporate bond yields by rating page. A bondholder owns a claim on the issuer. A store buyer owns real estate leased to whichever entity signed the lease, so the pre-tax comparison depends on the tenant entity as much as on the rating.
The case for the real estate rests on 1031 exchange eligibility, residual land value, scheduled rent increases where the lease has them, and building depreciation when the investor owns the building (see Internal Revenue Code Section 1031 and IRS Publication 946). The T-Mobile math is in T-Mobile Bonds vs NNN Real Estate, the sector view is in investment grade telecom bonds, and the broader framework is in what the bond-to-NNN spread means. Tax outcomes depend on your situation; this is general information, not tax advice.
Verdict: Which Carrier Wins?
On the ratings in our database, Verizon has S&P and Moody’s ratings of BBB+/Baa1 and a Fitch rating of A-, while T-Mobile shows S&P and Fitch ratings of BBB+ and BBB+ with no verified Moody’s record. That difference describes the data on file, not a judgment on either company’s credit. The live medians in the table show where sellers are asking for each.
The decisive question for either carrier is the lease: carrier tenant, former Sprint entity or authorized retailer, the guarantor, the remaining term and the location. A store leased directly by the carrier or guaranteed by a rated carrier entity is a different investment from the same sign on a retailer lease. If you are weighing a replacement property under a 1031 exchange deadline, confirm the tenant and any guaranty in the executed lease.
T-Mobile vs Verizon: Frequently Asked Questions
Is T-Mobile or Verizon a better NNN tenant?
It depends on the lease. Verizon is rated BBB+/Baa1 (S&P / Moody’s) in our ratings database, while T-Mobile has an S&P rating of BBB+ and a Fitch rating of BBB+. The live tables on this page show each carrier’s median asking cap rate. Whether the tenant is the carrier, a former Sprint entity or an authorized retailer, and who guarantees the lease, often matters more than the sign on the building.
Are T-Mobile and Verizon investment grade?
Our ratings database classifies Verizon as investment grade and T-Mobile as investment grade, with the threshold at BBB-/Baa3. The classification applies to the parent company, and a store lease carries it only if the carrier or a rated carrier entity signs or guarantees the lease. The check date is shown under the comparison table.
What happened to Sprint leases after the T-Mobile merger?
T-Mobile completed its merger with Sprint on April 1, 2020, and Sprint and its subsidiaries became wholly owned subsidiaries of T-Mobile. For a former Sprint location, confirm which entity is the tenant on the lease and whether T-Mobile US, Inc. guarantees it.
What cap rates do T-Mobile and Verizon NNN listings show?
T-Mobile listings in our data show a live median asking cap rate of 7.25% and Verizon listings show 6.39%. These are asking cap rates from the listings we track, not closed-sale cap rates. See the live table on this page for AT&T and other peers.
What should I confirm in a wireless store lease?
Confirm the tenant entity and any guarantor, the remaining term and renewal options, the rent schedule, co-tenancy and go-dark provisions for shopping center locations, and how readily the space could be re-leased to another retail or service user.
Comparing wireless store NNN properties for a 1031 exchange? Our team tracks cap rates, credit changes and live inventory across the NNN tenants we cover. Request a buyer consultation and we will build a side-by-side for your exchange timeline.

